- Our County
- Animal Care & Control
- Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
- Why do I have to license my dog?
State law requires all dogs over the age of three months to be vaccinated against rabies. Even if they are indoor only. The license requirement is to allow city or county agencies to ensure that the dog has a current rabies vaccination. It also gives animal control agencies a way to identify the owner of an impounded animal so they can get the animal back home.
- What happens if my dog or cat bites someone?
In accordance to Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S 11-1014), an unvaccinated dog or cat that bites any person shall be confined and quarantined in a county pound or, on request of and at the expense of the owner, at a veterinary hospital for a period of not less than ten days. The quarantine period shall start on the day of the bite incident. If the day of the bite is not known, the quarantine period shall start on the first day of impoundment. At the end of ten days, the owner can take the animal home after paying the quarantine impound fee.
- I have a problem with stray or feral cats. What can I do?
Keep in mind cats are legally free roaming in the State of Arizona, however, Animal Care and Control rents out cat traps. Learn more about cat traps.
- If I find a stray, what should I do?
If you have found a stray dog or cat, please contact Animal Care and Control and report it. Please make sure you call the animal control agency representing the city or area you have found the animal. If you cannot bring the animal into our facility, we ask that you hold that animal for 24 hours in hopes the owner will be found. Only then will we send an Officer to pick up the found animal. If you wish to keep the animal, you may but only if the owner can contact you to retrieve their lost pet, otherwise we prefer the animal stay with us until the 3-day mandatory waiting period is up. Then you may adopt the animal yourself. Please note Animal Care and Control does not pick up stray or roaming cats.
- What are your fees?
See our fee schedule for all costs concerning your pets or other matters with Animal Care and Control.
- How do I get a license?
You must have a copy of a current rabies vaccination certificate from a licensed veterinarian that is good for at least one year. You can come to the administrative office/shelter to buy your license:
1150 S Eleven Mile Corner Road
Casa Grande, AZ
Or you can mail the vaccination certificate and application to the office along with the license fee and the license will be mailed to you.
Or you can upload your rabies certificate, application and make payment online:
Mail to: Pinal County Animal Care and Control
1150 S Eleven Mile Corner Road
Casa Grande, AZ 85194
Visit the Licensing page for application and point and pay portal.
- Why do animals adopted from PCACC need to be spayed or neutered?
Arizona State Law requires that all shelters who do adoptions have a sterilization program in effect. The problem of stray and unwanted animals can only be reduced by eliminating unwanted litters of puppies and kittens.
- How do I become a volunteer?
Check out our volunteer page to learn more about volunteering!
Anyone 16 years and older can volunteer independently. Those 15 years and younger must be accompanied by an adult.
- How do I become a foster?
Learn more about fostering for Pinal County Animal Control and Care (PCACC)!
- Is PCACC a No-Kill Shelter?
Yes. To be considered no-kill, a shelter must have a live release rate of at least 90%. Pinal County Animal Control and Care (PCACC) has had over a 90% LRR since 2018. Our most recent LRR was 97.4%. PCACC only humanely euthanizes extremely ill or extremely aggressive animals.
- How old do you have to be to adopt?
Adopters need to be at least 18 years of age.
- Can I adopt out of state?
Yes! PCACC does out-of-state adoptions. However, adopters are responsible for coordinated transport for their adopted pets. PCACC does not provide transportation services.
- What do I do about loose dogs in my neighborhood?
If you are dealing with loose dogs in your neighborhood, please call 520-509-3555 Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm to report. If you need to report aggressive loose dogs on weekends or after hours, please call your local Police Department's non-emergency line.
- How do I report animal abuse or neglect?
Please call 520-509-3555 to report animal abuse or neglect.