Senior Property Valuation Protection Information
The Senior Property Valuation Protection Option (Senior Freeze) is available to residential homeowners, 65 years of age or older, who meet specific guidelines based on income, ownership, and residency (Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18.) Please be aware, the program will freeze the Limited Property Value of your property for three years, regardless if future property values increase or decrease.
If you are applying for the first time, please submit your application (PDF) in person to the Assessor's Office. The valuation freeze is for three years and is renewable after that time period, if the property owner still qualifies. This does not freeze your property tax bill but does freeze property valuation. Please carefully read the information below and contact our office if you have any questions about the process.
Application Deadline: March 1st through September 1st, 2023
Important to Note
It is important to understand, should you qualify for the program your property taxes are not frozen.
The freeze applies only to the Limited Property Value of your property and will remain frozen even in the event of a declining real estate market. Any changes to the property such as new construction or demolitions that will change your Full Cash Value will result in the removal of the freeze.
Age: At least one property owner must be the minimum qualifying age of 65 at the time of application.
Residence: The property must be the owner(s) primary residence. A "primary" residence is that residence which is occupied by the property owner(s) for an aggregate of nine months of the calendar year. A qualified owner can have only one primary residence and must have resided in the residence for two years at the time of application. This protection includes up to ten acres of land including the primary residence identified by one parcel number. Please bring your Arizona Driver License. If your license is less than 2 years old, please bring supporting documentation that shows at least two years of residency at your current address; voter registration card, utility statement, vehicle registration, etc.
Ownership: If the property is held in trust, provide proof of trustees along with the application to determine ownership eligibility. Any change in ownership may result in the loss of the Freeze.
Income Limit: All gross income, taxable and non-taxable, of all owners will be used to determine eligibility.
- $43,872 - One Owner
- $54,804 - Two or More Owners
Income Verification: When applying for property valuation protection, documentation (W-2's, 1099's, and tax returns) to verify all gross income, residency and age must be submitted with the application. Applications must be submitted in person to the Assessor's office; no applications by mail will be accepted. The following list offers examples of acceptable income verification forms.
- Federal Income Tax Return
- Dividends and Interest
- Business/Farm Income
- Veteran Disability Pension Ins
- Alimony/Welfare Payments
- Social Security Benefits
- Capital Gains/IRA Income
- Rent and Royalty Income
- Workman's Compensation
- Retirement/Pension and Annuity
- Disability Compensation
- Railroad Retirement
- AZ Unemployment
Requalification: Once qualified, the freeze is in effect for a three-year period, unless otherwise indicated by law. The Assessor will notify the property owner(s) six months prior to the expiration of the current period, reminding them they must re-qualify for the protection to continue.